Poetry on your palate

This is a bit of a departure from my usual posts. I wanted to share with my
readers, one of my other true passions: cooking.

At this time of year, food is never far from my thoughts. (Okay, I’ll be honest, it’s never far at any time of year). So, with that in mind, I thought I would share one of my favourite recipes for the season. It’s fast, pretty on the plate and delectable.

I invite all who visit, to do the same thing on their blogs and leave a link in the comments below. Bon Appetit!

Kat’s Pecan-cranberry tartlettes with orange zest

1/4 lb butter
1 cup flour
3 oz. cream cheese
(*the first 3 ingredients should be at room temperature)
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup golden corn syrup
2 tsp. vinegar
1/2 tsp. vanilla (use the real thing)
Grated zest of 1/2 an orange
1/4 cup melted margarine
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped pecans.

*Note, if you’re not into making pastry, the frozen mini tart shells work just fine.

In medium bowl, combine butter, flour and cream cheese to form a stiff dough. Divide into 24 balls and press down into mini-muffin tins.In medium bowl, lightly beat egg with a fork, gradually add brown sugar. Blend in syrup, vinegar, vanilla, orange zest, cranberries and melted margarine (or butter, if you’re indulging). Fill tart shells about 2/3 full with mixture. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Cool and serve. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Poetry on your palate

  1. Oh, I love the recipe. Sounds wonderful and I am always on the lookout for something new to try! I have just been busy and completely disorganized! Getting time to write is almost impossible lately. I am trying to get back. Might be a new one up from me today!….. still haven't finished my cupboards either hahaha!!

    Like

  2. KatYou had me at “butter”! Sounds yummy. I know I posted a comment on this already…but I don't think it ever showed up. Blogger probably posted it to some random blog and they are wondering what the butter comment is all about. Oh well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

