My Hooker, Calliope


Photo borrowed from Flickr

Red Hot Poker

I want to scrawl on widest wall–

coffee must be talkin’.

what’s deep in me, unleash, be free!

my wares I must be hawkin’.

fire inside is burnin’ low

time and again, I’m stokin’.

diggin’ ashes—raisin’sparks

stirrin’ embers, smolderin’–

with my red-hot poker.

Words wedged deep

keep me from sleep

towards the break of day.

find the missin’ piece

that pulls me apart–

reveal it at my core

let me sing for you

so you may see

what my words

are meant to mean

when I’m off the damn caffeine.

Muscles all are taut,

givin’ all I’ve got,

not enough, but still

comin’ down,

or soon I will

when my blood is clear

once more–

Inspiration’s just a whore!

comes once in a while

bringin’ service with a smile

‘til she goes

and slams

the door.

Kathleen Mortensen© 2008

8 thoughts on “My Hooker, Calliope

  1. Kat,It's a pleasure to meet you. It did seem funny to see your name here as if it were mine. Great poem: love the caffeine driven words, the red hot poker and inspiration as a whore.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Kat! (You're right, it is weird to see that, and to write it.)Glad you enjoyed the poem – I'll be around yours on a regular basis. You're in my updating sidebar which is a Godsend to me.)Kat

    Like

  3. Hello Kat, Your peom is perfectly done. I love the content and what your are saying in it. I also love red hot poker flowers and the song you have on your blog right now. How relaxing to just sit read your wonderful poem and listen to some good music. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

