Brit Punk Queen

I am a shadow of my former self. I once was decked in blackened threads and kohl-lines encircled my hazel-green eyes. I was young. I was twenty and I fell for a musician and the music he loved. He loved Siouxsie Sioux and so I did as well.
When he was gone, the tunes lived on and Siouxsie and the Banshees were always on my turntable (yes! way before cds) or in a cassette tape-recorder. I saw them in concert a number of times and once, I even did a lip-synch of the song, Arabian Knights to a packed crowd at the Copa in Toronto. I tried to learn the bass guitar.

I wore pointy boots, and long skirts and died my hair as dark as I dared. I closed my eyes and spun about on dance floors all across town – I paid no heed to those who didn’t share my tastes–to those who didn’t “get” Siouxsie.

She was a phase, it’s true, but still today, whenever I hear a Siouxsie song, I am transported back to the days of my youth and my mysterious and enigmatic days. I have no regrets – although it’s a whole lot easier without all that makeup!

Kathleen Mortensen©2009

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

3 thoughts on “Brit Punk Queen

  1. So, you were a punkette, eh?! Well, we all have our “pasts.” I wore my share of long skirts, too, but was a little more towards the Stevie Nicks end of the continuum… I don't think I've ever knowingly heard a Siouxsie song, but I have to admit this isn't bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

