I’m Giving Thanks (off the cuff)

Red, Gilbert & Daisy (from L to R)

Thanks

I’m thankful for the life I’ve got
The life You’ve given me
For food and health and water-
Streaming forth with purity.

I’m thankful for the folk I know
And ones I’ve yet to meet
Those gentle souls who pass me by
As I stroll down the street.

I’m thankful for my one true love
My heart he holds with care
And trust I him, with all my thoughts
To him, my soul’s laid bare.

I’m thankful for the mom and dad
Who opened up my eyes
With invaluable lessons
Now, I’m grown, I realize.

I’m thankful for the creature-cats
Who populate our home
They snuggle up and keep us warm
Who needs a dog to come?

I’m thankful for the grace of God
Who put me on this earth
And blesses me continually
With mercies and with mirth.

Kathleen Mortensen©2008

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

9 thoughts on “I’m Giving Thanks (off the cuff)

  1. I have a little plaque hanging in the kitchen that says “Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but rather the realization of what you already have.”This is true.

    Like

  2. Thanks to you, everyone! I need another verse for all of you guys.Mizmell – a truer word was never spoken. I like simple things. Nothing makes me happier than cozying up by the fire with a good program on t.v. and my Honey and my cats for company. (Oh, and a cup of hot tea.)Kat

    Like

Leave a Reply

