Another burial outside my window.

Photo by Kat

Dead and Buried

Another place, another time;
Someone’s just picked up their last dime
Or pricked their finger on a rose
Found the last ladder in their hose.

No more to smell the coffee bean,
Or witness television scene,
Stroke the fur of dog or cat–
It’s all done now, and that is that!

No snow to fall, no sun to glow,
And certainly, no fashion show,
Or grimy boots to kick, hard off–
No smile to smile, no hat to doff.

No kiss of love, no smack of hate;
Adoring eyes, came all too late;
Never again to hear the sound
Of his smooth voice, or her heart pound.

Another place,another time;
The spell is over; hear the chime
Of the night-bell, for Evensong;
Those called to mourn, will come ere long.

Kathleen Mortensen©2009

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

22 thoughts on “Another burial outside my window.

  1. Gosh your vantage point does lead to some interesting meditations. Good poem. By the way, I was very gratified to be awarded the “Premio Dardos” award earlier today by Jacqueline T Lynch of the very fine “Another Old Movie Blog.” As part of receiving the award, I need to choose 5 other blogs that deserve it, & your blog most certainly fits the criteria, so I'm passing on the Premio Dardos award to you. You can capture the award jpeg on today's post over at RFBanjo. Here's the full scoop:”The Dardos Award is given for recognition of cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values transmitted in the form of creative and original writing. These stamps were created with the intention of promoting fraternization between bloggers, a way of showing affection and gratitude for work that adds value to the Web.”The rules:“1) Accept the award by posting it on your blog along with the name of the person that has granted the award and a link to his/her blog.2) Pass the award to another five blogs that are worthy of this acknowledgement, remembering to contact each of them to let them know they have been selected for this award.”Thanks for maintaining such a delightful & welcoming space.John Hayes

    Like

  2. Thanks Sandy – believe it or not, it came to me in a flash. It's kind of a “Snow Upon Snow” revisited.Deb – I agree, but I'm not sure from where it bubbled up in me.John – Yes. The window holds some many sources of deep introspection. Thank you so much for the award. I will pick it up soon and pass it on.Carol – It's diverting to write the fun, light-hearted verse, but I honestly feel a greater affinity for the dark shadows in life.Willow – not so far, unless you count the scratchings in the walls above our bed early in the morning.I knew you'd like that clip!Ida – You're a sweetheart!Kat

    Like

  3. What an amazing verse! It says everyting and more. Came to see if you have the Fabrege egg on your side bar…just lookin' honest. Debby's a bit upset about the charge – in Euro's no less – on her credit card.

    Like

  4. My own attraction to cemeteries has to do precisely with questions about those who left and whose mark is still felt somewhere and/or in someone's life. I have also done a few posts on cemeteries and my own thoughts on the subject.Love your poem and the doors it opens. Thank you!Isabel

    Like

  5. Peggy – That and a very strange dream I had about my father last night. When I saw the digging, it all just fell into place.Cynthia – I have it tucked away.Isabel – tell me where to find your poems, I'd love to read them.Kat

    Like

  6. Blicky – Thanks! I'm overwhelmed of late, by the accolades. I'm just letting the words spill out in the hopes that they touch someone out there. This reaction is more than I could hope for.Marja – It's as if my subconscious has this box of ideas and periodically, something comes along to make me open it – then everything comes tumbling out. Sometimes I have to force the box shut, just to get some peace!Jeannelle – Yes. We back on to the cemetery and cemeteries have never disturbed me – I've always found them peaceful, interesting places with so much history! I spend many moments just looking out there…thinking.Kat

    Like

  7. That is some picture – snowcapped tombstones. Cemeteries are so fascinating and morbid all at the same time. A bold poem you've written here. I really liked the coffee bean line. I can hardly imagine no longer smelling coffee, so in this regard this poem reminded me of my own mortality. I don't know if I've said it before, but I really wish I could meet you. The Blogher conference is starting to look good, even for a disaffected blogger like me. hahahahaha!

    Like

  8. The finality of mortality is a tough subject. I like how you have used the senses, or the absence of touch, sight, etc. No boots to kick, hard off. Very real and very telling; no matter how one has lived one's life we all end up there — with the eyes of love or the smack of hate.

    Like

  9. My Grandparents lived next to a cemetary when I was young. I spent many a summer day playing amongst the stones. When there was a buriel I would not be allowed to go there of course. I would often wonder about who was buried there, what their life was like and like many of the things you mentioned in your poem. Their loves and hates. I thoroughly enjoyed your poem.

    Like

  10. Thanks, Lydia, It is always interesting!Jen, I don't know how I missed responding to this thread of comments, but I apologize for not doing so. I would so love to meet you too! Maybe one day, eh?Jane, Thank you for the compliment – I enjoy working with rhyme – it's a mental exercise, but I love to make the patterns and strive to find unique words.Thank you, Christine. You know the strange thing about this poem is that it came to me very quickly – almost as if it were meant to be.Sparky – we are the lucky ones, are we not? I will be very sad if I ever have to leave this place.Hi Lisa, Welcome and thank you!Some folks are quite leery about cemeteries, but I find them peaceful and rather comforting. Mind you, I don't think I would want to hang out in them at night.Kat

    Like

Leave a Reply

