You’ll NEVER guess what I did on Wednesday!

mooved
(Click the pictures to see us up close.)
You may have gleaned that Kevin and I are sort of health nuts. It’s amazing that we turned out this way since both of us came from the “I can get a bag of chips, a chocolate bar and a pop for $0.25 era.” It’s not that we still don’t occasionally indulge, but we do try to eat without overdoing it on fats, sugars, and processed foods.
We’re not really meat eaters. I know most of you out there love your meat – steaks, nearly raw, burgers on the barbie, roasts on the Sunday dinner table and a big ham or turkey at Christmas and Easter. I understand. I used to do that too, but for about 10 years now, Kevin and I have not been eating anything that has 4 legs. We have been what you call “Pesco-Pollo” vegetarians. This means that we eat chicken and fish, only.
I do not wish to change anybody’s views. I certainly don’t want to ram my ideals down anybody’s throat (so-to-speak). I just wanted you to understand our rationale for where we were the other day.
One of the things we do as part of our diet, is to eat as much organic and local food as we can (without going to too much trouble.) I have a poem, “Miles To Go Before I Eat” on this blog, that pretty much sums up my lazy, qualified attitude about certain aspects of eating locally. However, we do drink organic milk all the time, unless all the stores are shut and we can only get the regular stuff at a convenience store.
We started drinking “Harmony Organic” milk about a year ago when our favourite health food store began carrying it. It comes in lovely, glass bottles, reminiscent of the old horse and milk-wagon days, or at least, the milk-trucks that would drive down your street, leaving milk on your doorstep. Yes, I’m old enough to have had that experience.
For a 2 dollar deposit, you can get your milk in these bottles, drink it and then take the bottle back for your refund. (I’ll be honest, I’ve kept a few bottles because I just love them, with their cow logo on the side and flip-off lid. They somehow give my fridge the appearance of being cleaner.)
On Wednesday, we went on a tour of the Harmony Organic Dairy at the “Organic Oasis” farm. It was a splendid day. The weather was ideal—sunny with a lovely temperature. There was a cool breeze, but when you were in the sun, it was warm and comfortable. It was perfect for a tractor-pulled hayride through the amazing farm at Organic Oasis.
The best part is, I got to check something off of my “Bucket List” (which is quite short and simple, if I’m honest). I got to get close to a cow; well, actually not just one, a whole bunch of them in all shapes and sizes. We also saw pigs, chickens, roosters and dogs. For animal lovers like Kevin and me, it was the most amazing day!
Guess what? Now we’re even reconsidering eating chicken!

oasisorg 004
Cock of the Walk
pigpen
Dozing Hogs
proudfarmer
Proud Farmer Tour Guide
cornfield
Harmony Organic guide.
ryefield
Comin’ Thru the Rye!
I got licked!
Sniffing me out.
heifers
A pair of heifers
milkers
Milkers in the field.
galloways
Galloway Bulls
Kev and Winston
Our Buddy, Winston

35 thoughts on “You’ll NEVER guess what I did on Wednesday!

  1. My girls and I used to eat all organic, but it became too expensive so we had to stop. Lately I've been trying to purchase at least some things organic (I love Paul Newman's organic stuff, especially his Newman-O's, the organic version of Oreo's! I just can't get rid of this sweet tooth). We stopped eating red meat and started using ground turkey, which we all like. So, in other words, I can relate to your wanting to steer away from meat and eat organic, it's so much better for us, the animals and the environment. Not to mention that organic food tastes so much better!Oh, and thanks for the info on the milk. We've been drinking regular milk and I just cringe at all the hormones etc. I'll have to add that to my list when I go to the Natural Foods store. Great pics! Looks like you had a lot of fun. K, I'll stop rambling now. Have a wonderful day. Jane

    Like

  2. What a cool thing to do!The same for me,about now 12 years ago that I don't eat any meat,not even chicken,so I understand.There are plenty of other things that are good to eat!I love wholewheat cereales,all the weird cereales you can find,ancient ones too ect..that's for me!Yeap I guess I'm really an owl,I eat the same things!And a fish cause I eat seaweeds and stuff!Lol!To some I'll be really weird!:D

    Like

  3. What a fun way to spend an afternoon! Ah, the days of the glass milk bottles. When we were growing up, we had a milk man who would deliver those wonderful bottles of milk and leave them in a metal box outside our door. I remember once, they were covered with perspiration from the summer heat and one slipped out of my hand, shattering all over the concrete step.You and Kevin look like two peas in a pod. Does anyone else think you look exactly alike?

    Like

  4. This looked like a very fun day that you and your hubby had. Love the photos. I used to be very health conscious and still am off and on. I do have a love of sugar. I have never really cared for meat, and feel we would be fine without it. When I do make it I prefer the hormone free products. I was amazed one year at how much skinnier a turkey was without all the plumpers. I made one one year from Trader Joes.Anyway..great topic Kat!

    Like

  5. sounds liek a great afternoon, and always good to check off the Bucket list. thinking that receiving milk in glass bottles would be pretty nostalgic, especially if they left it on your door. a little gift each morning.you can probably stear clear of the chicken, i hear it tastes like everything else. ha.

    Like

  6. I'm almost with you on the 4-legs thing, but I must admit I like bacon. But we hardly ever eat beef, etc. Going local & organic is good as much as possible. & the farm visit looks like fun!

    Like

  7. What a great day out Kat and i wish I had the will power to eat healthier.Winston- what a totally deadly dog.I Yes!I agree with willow ,I too was struck by your amazing likeness – a handsome couple for sure 🙂

    Like

  8. I'm not there yet, food wise, but I do insist on organic milk. I am rethinking the meat and chicken thing after reading a booklet of vegetarian propaganda that made perfect sense to my semi-Zen sensibilities.

    Like

  9. Hi Kat, wonderful post and looks like a grand time. Working on a ranch as I did, in my teen years I got pretty close. We also had the free range chickens. Fresh eggs and milk every morn'. Not a big red meat eater, but not a total “Pesco-Pollo”( didn't even know there was a word for it ), either. And Winston's such a cute doggie! A new friend, indeed. Happy week-end!

    Like

  10. i live in a rural area and we have several wonderful farms from which to buy fresh vegetables in summer, fresh grain fed beef without hormones, and fresh milk and butter year round. The milk is double the cost of store bought but the taste is incredible and they do provide glass bottles, with a deposit, you return for another bottle or return of your deposit. There is simply no comparison to their food and that of the grocery chain.

    Like

  11. Fun! My husband and I are slowly making changes in that direction. One thing at a time, though, or I know we won't stick to it and we'll be eating potato chips for dinner.

    Like

  12. We sold the farm and moved to Iowa 11 years ago. Now I have to buy my food but, I'm not tied down to farm life now. Like this lifestyle so much better. Like you, a farm is fun to visit but I wouldn't want to live there anymore.

    Like

  13. Oh Kat! How I love “field trips” like this one! What fun…and to be able to get up close with all these glorious creatures! And, the lovely glass bottles…how I would love to have one lurking in my fridge too!We went to a goat farm this week and My Emma is now scheming every way her ten year old mind can scheme about how we NEED a goat…to eat the grass…to save the gas…on the John Deere that her father built….;) Okay…I'll quit now!Happy Weekend to you!

    Like

  14. Great post Kat! My eldest daughter agrees with you. She eats only chicken and fish. (The only reason she eats chicken is because a rooster attacked her when she was five). She is getting even! I eat local as much as possible. (Sometimes it is a challenge in the winter). I Painted a cow about a year ago. I will have to post it.

    Like

  15. Well I'm not quite as diligent although we do have a great growers' market on Saturday's and everything's organic. Used to spend holidays on a dairy farm years ago such fun. I have an 'if I can kill it I'll eat it' attitude so mainly fish and chook in our house too although just now and then . . I crave a steak!Oh, no hormones in Aussie milk. Just pasturisation and occasionally the odd health additive such as omega fatty acids or calcium.

    Like

  16. Hello Kat,I think that's great that you and your hubby are vegetarians. My hubby and my children love to eat meat, so I'm usually making two meals for dinner.My daughter who's 8 is thinking about becoming a vegetarian. I told her it's totally up to her and I also told her she does not have to be a vegan like me, she could eat some fish, dairy ect…It looked like you had a lot of fun at the farm. I usually take my kids to a similar farm during the summer. have a nice evening,Lydia

    Like

  17. Souds like you two had a MOOoovelous day ! I too grew up with milk in thick glass bottles. I still have two tiny ones (empty of course) ;)We still eat meat, but favor chicken and fish the most, and my vegetable garden looks like a big cage surrounded by a green wire fence almost 5ft tall to keep the deer away, but somehow, the bunnies got to the lettuces. Go figure!

    Like

  18. Well I am also one enrolled in “Organic” – enjoy good health – a totality of well being! Your description of milk bottles, milkmen and home delivery certainly are a match for my own memories. Unless the milk is from organic farms, free pasture, grass fed – I do not drink it. I use hemp milk, rice milk, almond milk. For the most part my diet is dairy free and vegetarian. So thank you for the tour! And know you are in the company of a like minded blogger!

    Like

  19. a really good post and lovely pics.I'd love to eat all organic and local and farmers market… its just so expensive! and i'd love to eat very little red meat and more fish and veggie – but my family are VERY carnivorous! sigh.My mum and dad had a cow for a while, and I milked it sometimes – it was such a great experience! Though having to be up extra early every morning to do it would be hard work

    Like

  20. Ah, great pictures, seems like you had lots of fun! I think I can completely imagine eating only fish and chicken. Although I can not be without meat completely, I am not a great fan of big slaps of meat at all.;)Hope your weekend is great.;) xo

    Like

  21. Wonderful post, Kat! I'm so glad you were able to visit this organic dairy farm, and am happy to hear of the way you are able to buy milk in the glass bottles. Cool!Aren't bovines fun to take photos of? They have such interesting personalities and faces and they are curious about people.Looks like you and Kevin had a marvelous day!

    Like

  22. That looks like a lot of fun. The pics are great. You two look very happy. This reminds me of my first and last trip to a dairy – 1976, Colorado Springs. The vat of cottage cheese was like a tub. Wild! I can't eat red meat without overly thinking it. It bothers me, I grin and bear it and don't let it happen very often. I mostly eat chicken. I don't even eat fish, really b/c i don't know how to cook it. I do eat a lot of turkey and only buy turkey hot dogs and turkey chili for the dogs. Generally, if I thik I'm eating a cow, I can't finish the meal. I have no idea why – i wasn't raised by vegetarians and Robert loves his steaks. We'd get along just fine, Kat. =)

    Like

  23. Looks like a day of fun. And such great photos, too.After my time in Texas, I haven't wanted red meat! I'm a big fan of stir fry and Tex Mex, so I do use chicken and fish.Thanks for sharing your outing with us!

    Like

  24. Hi, there…Looks like you had a blast! There is no red meat in our household and we have been using the term, “feather or fin”..And, glad that you marked off something for your bucket list. My blog is called “Time for a Bucket List”, and I have listed some and deleted some…I enjoyed the visit….

    Like

  25. Wonderful post..I really don't want to eat something that can make eye contact with me! But, truthfully, I do fall off the wagon.Also I remember bottles of milk with the cream rising to the top, which my Mom saved for me in her endless quest to fatten me up..I'm a carb freak..happy with lots of bread, beans, grain, potatoes..still skinny!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

