Feast of the Week 2010 #3: Lentil Curry

curry

Click for source (I’ll be adding my own photo as soon as I prepare this again, myself.)

I love a good curry and this is one of the easiest and most versatile you’ll come across.  It is simple and delicious, but also very healthy and low in fat.  Rinse the lentils well, however, or I  won’t be responsible for the after-effects.

By the way, if you have a minute, please take my poll in the sidebar and let me know what you think about this feature on Poetikat’s Invisible Keepsakes. Thanks!

Kat’s Lentil Curry

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

2 Tbsp. curry powder (at least)

2 tsp. freshly grated ginger (or 1 tsp. dried)

2 Tbsp. flour

2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

1/2 cup raisins (I use golden Sultanas)

1/4 cup flaked coconut

1 tart apple, peeled and grated

1 tsp. each: ketchup, sugar and Worcestershire sauce

1 can lentils, rinsed and drained

Method:

Saute onion in oil until tender.  Add green pepper and stir-fry for a few minutes. Stir in spices and flour until veggies are coated.  Add stock slowly, stirring constantly.  Add remainder of ingredients except for lentils.  Simmer for 5 minutes.  Add lentils and stir to blend.   Adjust seasoning.  (I usually add another Tbsp of curry and 1 extra tsp. of ginger)

Simmer another 10 to 15 minutes and serve over cooked Basmati or Jasmine rice.  Garnish with parsley or cilantro.  (Goes really well with the nutty flavour of any brown rice too.) Or try it with pasta, couscous or noodles.  Anything goes, really and leftovers heat really well too.

N.B. For a nice variation, add diced, cooked, sweet or regular potato. Chickpeas (garbanzo beans) may also be used in place of lentils to great effect.

8 thoughts on “Feast of the Week 2010 #3: Lentil Curry

  1. I'm behind on my blog reading but I see here you've got this curry recipe that I must try! And with coconut too! Yummy! I lurve Thai and Indian food too!Poetikat, ya know… you can start your own bible study within your church for something like this. My husband grew up in the Catholic church so he can relate to your comment. In fact, thats why I lurve teacher, Beth Moore and her bible studies because all christian faith denominations come together to hear the same message which is Gods word, which is available to everyone. And whose to say you can't go to another church to participate in a bible study. I have often done that through the years and met great people along the way who have become dear friends today.Have a great Friday, you're lurved!

    Like

  2. mmmmm I love lentils and I love indian curries!!! Belgians really don't eat them a lot, but have never been disappointed in lentil dishes 🙂 This looks delicious!when you say green pepper: is that a belly pepper or a small spicy thing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

