Friday Feast of the Week: A real treat

squares 006

(I made some the other day, so this photo is evidence!)

 

When I used to assist with special needs children in kindergarten classes back in the 80s and 90s we often had days where moms came in to help as well.  In one of the classes I worked in, I was fortunate to meet the mother of one of the little boys when she visited.  She brought with her these amazing butter tart squares that she had baked for the occasion.  Of course, I had to get the recipe off her and I still have it, printed on a card in blue Sharpie marker. (It has a few grease spots after all these years.)

These are fast, easy and delectable.  I don’t indulge my sweet tooth too often, but when I do, this is one of my first impulses:

Michael Banducci’s Mom’s Butter Tart Squares

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour (I use 1 cup regular and 1/2 cup whole wheat and add 1 Tbsp. flax meal)

2 Tbsp. sugar (I use organic)

1/2 cup of butter (don’t use margarine—this IS an indulgence, remember)

2 eggs

11/2 cups lightly packed brown sugar

1  Tbsp. vinegar

1 tsp. flour

1 cup raisins (I use sultanas)

 

Method:

Combine flour and sugar in mixing bowl. Cut in butter until crumbly.  Press into 9” square pan or oven-proof dish.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

Beat eggs and brown sugar together in a small bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Stir in remaining ingredients, pour over base.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or just until set and golden.  Cool and cut into squares.

Try and resist them!

Leave a Reply

