Now the countdown really begins.

We were up at the house yesterday, despite heavy rain all day Saturday and then a temperature plummet, followed by more of the dreaded white stuff, we drove north yesterday morning and it was actually a glorious day!  Although quite cold, the sun was shining and the trees along the way that dotted the landscape were pretty as a Christmas card.
The entrance to our neighbourhood is off a country road and when you turn in there are a couple of twists before you come out at the intersection with our street.  It is only as you approach this crossing that you can see our house in the distance.We were filled with tremendous anticipation, wondering what we might see this time —hoping the brickwork would be complete and to our delight it was!
The above photo was snapped by Kevin at the back of our house.  I don’t want to share a photo of the front until it is complete and I’m also keeping something else a surprise:  we have determined what the house will be called.  The Hyggehus is no more, but this house will have a name too.
We had thought of doing something with a few Gaelic words, but the Irish language doesn’t lend itself to easy pronunciation and the word for house is spelled, “teach” which would undoubtedly be misinterpreted even though it actually sounds like “chalk”.  So we are going with the Danish once again and we are very pleased with the choice.
I will reveal the name of the house when I show you a complete picture.
I beg your indulgence as I share this information and do hope that no one is bored with this (if you are, I understand), but this is perhaps the biggest event to occur in our lives in the 17 years that we’ve been married.  It is truly our dream home and we are so pleased also to be sharing it with my mother who is as excited as we are. Did I mention the four unsuspecting cats? They may be slightly less pleased at the outset. (Extra strong catnip is stockpiled for the transition.)
If you’ll notice in the above picture, I can be seen in the foreground on the left, picking my way over the ice and snow, like a teetering Sasquatch (or a toddler in a snowsuit).  I actually took a spill at the front of the house and the knees of my jeans were covered in snow.  Near-fifty-year old pins aren’t as flexible on precarious surfaces as the once were!
I won’t be as present online over the next 10 days.  There is much to do both physically and tactically.  I will try and post poems if I am struck with them ( I find I can’t shake the impetus, despite my preoccupations), but you probably won’t see me on your blogs.  I hope you won’t hold it against me.
Take care,
Kat

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.