Where I’m From – in poetry

My Great-aunt, “Big Clara” (the tall one),as opposed to “Little Clara” (the shorter).

Colleen, of Loose Leaf Notes left a comment on my blog yesterday and I found myself at her blog, thanking her and having a nose around to see what she is all about. She is a brilliant writer, who writes from the heart and writes in such a way as to immediately draw you into her world. I have added her to my links in the sidebar.

At Colleen’s blog, I read a poem entitled “Where I’m From”. Upon reading it I began to wonder if she would think it too bold of me if I should attempt a similar type of poem since it was such a wonderful expression of who she is. I was pleased to notice that she actually attributed this poem to another person’s blog and that there is in fact a template for anyone who wants to write one like it. I can see Michelle Hix of Sont les mots… taking this on, or perhaps Fenny . Here is the link to the template and a bit of the history of the origin of the piece. You can read Colleen’s memorable poem here.

Here’s my version of “Where I’m From”


Scraps of Me

I’m from sixties’ suburbia,
pb & j and cheese-spread
in the canteloupe kitchen
of the brick bungalow
on Pyramid Crescent.

I‘m from blown dandelions
plucked daisies, and the buttercup test,
from pixie stix, pop rocks,
Dickie Dee bells
and candy cigarettes.

I’m from best-suit Sundays,
candle-lit Masses
and my father’s tenor tones
carrying each hymn
from memory.

I’m from the seventh one
of the twelve bastard-spawned
Catholics of Rodney Drive, Belfast —
the son who crossed
the Atlantic.

I’m from corned beef and cabbage,
Feis Eirann and the Clancy Bros,
Murphy-jokes and miracles,
clay pipes and pots of gold
at the end of the rainbow.

I’m from the middle daughter
of the shunned ex-Baptist–
the Dominion Coal Company clerk
of Glace Bay, Cape Breton
Nova Scotia.

I’m from bloodsuckers, seaweed,
and salt-water… “out East Bay”,
the house on Cottage Street
with the “Aren’t they gorgeous?”
sweet pea-beds, and tiger-lilies.

I’m from, “Who’s like you
since Leatherarse died?”
and frequently:
“What do you think this is,
your Father’s yacht?”

I’m from the roll of the sea
and the rise of the hills,
from blueberry pie,
“Big Clara’s” strawberry jam
and outdoor lobster feasts.

I’m from the nun-chase
across the Santana schoolyard
and the tear-stained
train-station farewell
at the age of 15.

I’m from acid-free albums
of corner-pointed pictures
and pinked photographs
of British army days
and “the old country”
in the footed tin box.

Kathleen Mortensen © 2008

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

15 thoughts on “Where I’m From – in poetry

  1. Very nice Kat, lots of wonderful imagery. I felt like I was driving in a car and passing by all of the places you were from.From the “brick bungalow” to the “roll of the sea and the rise of the hills”Thanks for sharing that with us.

    Like

  2. Colleen, that's more than I could hope for – giving someone chills. That means I've done something right.GB – Big Clara was my Great Aunt. She had a very hard life – married to an abusive alcoholic, but she was a kind and gentle woman who always treated me so well and in her later years I wrote to her often. Now that she's gone, I remember her for her love of flowers, animals and of course, the jam.Linda, it means a great deal to me that you feel something when you read this. Now, I'm waiting to read yours.Shazza, it is rather like a trip, isn't it? I can totally see it from that perspective – a drive-by of my life.Lone Grey Squirrel – thanks for stopping in and for your kind words.Cirellio – I'm really glad you liked it that much. Keep coming back.Quackster – you have discerned exactly what I was going for. You must be a poet!Bob – Ah yes! Those candy cigarettes – sweet and crunchy. We thought we were so cool.DD – glad you liked it. Thanks!

    Like

  3. This is DNA set to verse, genealogy intermingled with imagery, this is a family gene pool that lets us all dip our toes into the water to test the temperature. Kat, there is something in here for a lot of us to relate to from that era – and a lot more of it in here that lets us know you even better.

    Like

  4. great poem Kat. I enjoyed the trip. Some of it so familiar. It clicked for me on so many levels. Roberta/Birdsword Poetry

    Like

  5. Thanks, Squirrelmama! I'm glad you liked it and could relate. I do like to share a few pieces of myself once in a while, but there's plenty that people don't know.Welcome Thora! Nice to see you here. I'm pleased you enjoyed it. Don't be a stranger.Roberta – how nice to hear from you! I'm glad you connected with the poem. When we expose a part of ourselves it is amazing how we find that commonality with our counterparts.Kat

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.